

ROYAL TUNBRIDGE WELLS TOWN FORUM

ROYAL TUNBRIDGE WELLS TOWN FORUM - ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday 26 November 2015

Attended: Bob Atwood, Sally Balcon, David Barnett, Adrian Berendt, Lorna Blackmore, Mark Booker, Stephen Bowser, David Bushell, Cllr Mrs Barbara Cobbold, Adrian Cory, John Cunningham, Jane Fenwick, Allan Gooda, Michaela van Halewyn, Tim Harper, Dorothea Holman, Michael Holman, Bill Kern, Kyrios Kyriacou, Brian Lippard, Katharina Mahler-Bech, Paul Mason (sub), Marguerita Morton, Cllr Tracy Moore, Chris Morris, Altan Omer, Cllr Catherine Rankin, Cllr James Scholes, Cllr Don Sloan, Anne Stobo, Alastair Tod (Chairman), David Wakefield (sub), Mary Wardrop, Denise Watts, Dr Philip Whitbourn (sub), Pat Wilson and Cllr Chris Woodward

TWBC officers present: Adam Chalmers (Head of Partnerships and Engagement), Jane Clarke (Head of Policy and Governance) and Mike McGeary (Democratic Services Officer)

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were reported from: Caroline Auckland (sub), Cllr Bob Backhouse, Cllr Ronen Basu, Cllr Peter Bulman, Michael Doyle, Shauna Dupuy, Alex Green, Cllr Lawrence Heasman, Ann Hughes-Wilson (sub), Sue Kaner, Claire Luxford, Cllr David Neve, Angela Phillips (sub), Nick Pope, Cllr David Scott and Cllr Lynne Weatherly.

2. DECLARATIONS OF MEMBERS ENTITLED TO VOTE

The Democratic Services Officer had circulated a list of organisations which had achieved the required level of attendance at meetings to be able to vote at the AGM, as determined by the Town Forum's Constitution.

3. MINUTES OF THE 2014 AGM

The minutes of the 2014 AGM, held on 27 November 2014, were submitted. It was noted that these had been presented to the January 2015 meeting, where they had been noted.

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the AGM, held on 27 November 2014, be approved.

4. REPORT FROM THE CHAIRMAN ON THE TOWN FORUM'S ACTIVITIES OVER THE PAST YEAR

The Chairman of the Town Forum for 2014/15, Alastair Tod, summarised his report on the work of the Forum over the past year, which was a requirement of its Constitution.

Dr Tod began by thanking the Chairmen and members of each of the six working groups for the excellent work they had completed during the past 12 months,

including the production of well-argued responses to the Borough Council's consultation strategies and policies. He urged other members of the Forum to volunteer their time and efforts to join a working group, to maintain this high standard of work.

The Chairman also referred to the Town Forum's Constitution. He emphasised the importance of representation by many of the town's residents' associations and also of interest groups. Dr Tod felt that this combination could, on occasions, produce a conflict of interests, as could be the case through town ward councillors also being full voting members of the Town Forum. Dr Tod believed that this possible conflict was untidy and might at some future point make it difficult for the Town Forum to establish a particular position, should it need to, on significant matters.

Dr Tod also wished to place on record his thanks to the Borough Council for their continued hospitality and support for the Town Forum, as well as all the members of the Forum for their constant engagement and interest.

RESOLVED – That the Chairman's report on the work of the Town Forum for 2014/15 be accepted.

5. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN AND MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2015/16

Jane Clarke summarised a report, which set out the election process for the appointment of a Chairman and two Deputy Chairmen of the Town Forum.

Ms Clarke explained that there had been one nomination for the position of Chairman and only one for the two Deputy Chairmen positions, as follows: Chairman – Alastair Tod; Deputy Chairman – Alex Green. These nominations were endorsed unanimously.

RESOLVED -

- (1) That Alastair Tod be formally declared re-elected to serve as Chairman for 2015/16, until the date of the 2016 AGM;
- (2) That Alex Green be formally declared re-elected to serve as one of the Deputy Chairmen for 2015/16, until the date of the 2016 AGM;

The meeting concluded at 6.55pm.